fbpx Ruth named a winner of “Communicator of the Year” | BELD

Ruth named a winner of “Communicator of the Year”

May 3, 2018: Sturbridge, MA – The Municipal Electric Association of Massachusetts has announced that four outstanding municipal electric utility staff members have each been named 2018 Communicator of the Year as awarded by the Communications and Energy Services committee. The winners are: Brooke Czasnowski of Ashburnham Municipal Light Plant; Dylan Lewellyn of Ipswich Utilities; Jackie Pratt of Shrewsbury Electric Light and Cable; and Ruth Slater of Braintree Electric Light Department.

Communicator of the YearWinners of the award demonstrate exceptional leadership and communication skills and contribute to the betterment of MEAM member utilities. Recognized as an advocate who has earned a reputation as being highly credible with a variety of diverse audiences, each award recipient consistently uses communication strategies that demonstrate creativity and innovation in a public utility environment.

Ruth Slater, Energy Advisor for Braintree Electric Light Department was nominated by General Manager William Bottiggi, who listed a number of career accomplishments including: managing the department’s residential energy efficiency rebate programs, community solar programming and new efficiency thermostat program while also performing literally hundreds of in-home audits. Ruth also oversees the Weatherization Assistance Program funding for the department serving low-income customers in need. She has served on MEAM Communications & Energy Services committee for more than 25 years and on numerous subcommittees that help keep important services at their highest level of development.

“The MEAM Communicator of the Year Award was established to recognize communication and leadership excellence within the Public Power industry,” said Tammi Lemire, the MEAM Communications & Energy Services president. “Ruth is a true leader and is deeply respected by her manager and peers.  She has championed many energy service initiatives for our committee, sharing a deep passion for progressive conservation efforts. All our winners’ experience, community efforts and contribution to group projects are huge assets to the MEAM-CES group.”

MEAM was formed in 1953 and includes all 40 municipally owned electric utilities in the state, advocating and supporting their management and mutual interests for the benefit of their citizen-owners. The MEAM Communications and Energy Services committee brings together utility professionals to share and monitor information in these fields for the advancement of public electric utility service.